Monkey King: Master of the Clouds (2018)

About This Game

A huge Japanese coin-op hit developed by HOT-B in 1989, the game was later renamed Cloud Master when released outside Japan on the Sega Master System. It subsequently appeared on NES, and the PC Engine. This upgraded release of the original arcade version includes HD ready elements by developer Starfish-SD, the company formed by the original HOT-B development team.

For the first time in the series history, you can tag in a friend and soar across China with a friend in local Co-op.

There’s nothing more retro-classic than sharp pixel art, effortlessly rendered in HD. Enjoy the aesthetic that made this game a retro hit.

Enemies drop Power-ups that allow you to fly faster and shoot harder. Defeat Mid-Boss enemies and gain access to a special attack shop that unlocks devastating abilities.

Explore 5 stages of mythical landscapes, and fight against legendary creatures based on classic Chinese Folklore.

Live, worldwide leaderboards for both single player and Co-op.


The player controls Mike Chen floating on a cloud, maneuvering around the screen and shooting balls of energy at flying enemies. Powerups can be collected for stronger and faster firepower. Some parts of the game stage have doors that give the player the opportunity to buy special bomb types with collectible credits. Each stage has its own mini-boss and big boss. Throughout the stages, the player restarts at certain checkpoints after losing a life.


Game Details

Genre Shooter – Arcade – Fantasy
Works on Windows (7, 8, 10)
Languages Audio and text: English
Released September 14, 2018
Size 53 MB
Company Starfish-SD Inc / Retroism


Minimum system requirements – Windows:

7 / 8 / 10 (64-bit only)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz
Memory: 512 MB RAM
Graphics: intel HD4000 with 1GB of VRAM or comparable
DirectX: Version 11
Storage: 200 MB available space
Sound Card: Windows compatible sound card
Mouse, Keyboard


Monkey King: Master of the Clouds (2018)

People Who Also See

Samurai Shodown V Special (2004)