Battle Chasers: Nightwar (2017)

About This Game

Battle Chasers: Nightwar is a turn-based RPG developed by Airship Syndicate and published by THQ Nordic. It was released in October 2017 for Microsoft Windows, macOS, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, and in May 2018 for Nintendo Switch and Linux. Based on the Battle Chasers fantasy comic book series by Joe Madueira, the game involves the cast of that series being marooned on an island and being forced to stop the plans of an evil sorceress in order to escape.

The game received mixed to positive reviews from critics, who cited the game’s graphics and visual style as a strong point, but criticized its difficulty balance and high level of grinding.

Battle Chasers: Nightwar is an RPG inspired by the classic console greats, featuring deep dungeon diving, turn-based combat presented in a classic JRPG format, and a rich story driven by exploration of the world.


    • Classic turn-based combat inspired by the console RPG greats, with a unique overcharge mana system and incredible Battle Bursts.
    • Beautiful, randomly-generated dungeons loaded with traps, puzzles, secrets and loot.
    • Explore an overworld peppered with hidden dungeons, rare bosses and randomly appearing friends and foes.
    • Action oriented, randomly-generated dungeons loaded with traps, puzzles and secrets. Use each hero’s unique dungeon skills to survive
    • Build your adventuring party by choosing three of six available heroes from the classic Battle Chasers comic series, each with unique abilities, perks, items and dungeon skills
    • Dive into the deep crafting system, using the unique ingredient-overloading system to create epic items!

The best-selling comic book Battle Chasers was first released in the late 90s and quickly generated a passionate cult following.

Game Details 

Genre Role-playing – Turn-based – Fantasy
Works on Windows (7, 8, 10) and Mac OS X (10.9.0+)
Languages Audio and text: Deutsch, English, español, français, 日本語, polski, русский. Text only: Português do Brasil, 中文, italiano, 한국어
Released October 3, 2017
Size 3.5 GB
Company Airship Syndicate / THQ Nordic GmbH